For Children

Children's Book Lists & Recommendations

Juvenile Mysteries 

Science & STEAM 

Sports Fans 

Beyond Princesses 

6th Grade Readers

Reading Level M-N

Reading Level O-P 

Reading Level Q-R 

There are many great online resources to help you find the right book!  For leveled reading, use Scholastic Book Wizard, which lets you search by level, or look up what level a particular book is.

Look up a favorite fiction book to see read-alike recommendations with NoveList K-8. Novelist K-8 is also a good source for lists of recommended books for various ages and types of fiction.  

Novelist K-8 

Other websites that will help you find read-alikes:

GoodReads

Guys Read

Rick's Reading Recommendations (Percy Jackson read-alikes)

Award Winning Books:

ALSC Book and Media Awards

National Book Awards

Caldecott Medal & Honor Books

Boston Globe- Horn Book Awards

Garden State Children's Book Awards

Pinterest:

pinterest2

The New Providence Memorial Library has published many book lists for children and readers of all ages in its collection on Pinterest.  

Upcoming Events

Apr 10 12:00AM-Library Closed
Apr 12 12:00AM-Library Closed
Apr 21 07:30PM-Library Board of Trustees Meeting
May 09 10:00AM-Financial Literacy for Teens
May 09 11:30AM-Club Phoenix

While you're at home..

Even though NPML is closed until further notice and all programs are suspended until at least 5/1, we still have lots of content to explore.  Many of our online platforms are making additional resources available during this time and we have been creating content as well.  Check our slideshow and website, particularly Services and Books & Research tabs and facebook page for daily updates.

Read more ...

377 ELKWOOD AVENUE
NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ 07974
908-665-0311