For Children

Children's Book Lists & Recommendations

Juvenile Mysteries 

Science & STEAM 

Sports Fans 

Beyond Princesses 

6th Grade Readers

Reading Level M-N

Reading Level O-P 

Reading Level Q-R 

There are many great online resources to help you find the right book!  For leveled reading, use Scholastic Book Wizard, which lets you search by level, or look up what level a particular book is.

Look up a favorite fiction book to see read-alike recommendations with NoveList K-8. Novelist K-8 is also a good source for lists of recommended books for various ages and types of fiction.  

Novelist K-8 

Other websites that will help you find read-alikes:

GoodReads

Guys Read

Rick's Reading Recommendations (Percy Jackson read-alikes)

Award Winning Books:

ALSC Book and Media Awards

National Book Awards

Caldecott Medal & Honor Books

Boston Globe- Horn Book Awards

Garden State Children's Book Awards

Pinterest:

pinterest2

The New Providence Memorial Library has published many book lists for children and readers of all ages in its collection on Pinterest.  

Upcoming Events

Jun 19 11:00AM-Qi Gong for Teens
Jun 20 12:00AM-Library Closed
Jun 21 01:00PM-Virtual Storytime
Jun 21 03:30PM-Virtual Origami Club
Jun 22 10:00AM-Virtual Storytime- Ages 4, 5, 6

We look to the Spring sky..

for hope, renewal and daylight.  Here at NPML, we reflect those feelings with a new, virtual Art Gallery and a re-opening of our Browsing Section.

The Friends of NPML have collected beautiful photos posted over the past year on the NP Community Facebook page.  Lynn O'Neill & Bharat Rao have shown us beauty in the sky over our town and in the process, inspired those feelings of hope and renewal.  Visit the Art Gallery and view other exhibits, too.

Finally, our Browsing Section has re-opened!  Come in to peruse our shelves for new materials.  There are selections of popular items as well as a display of books from AfterWords - our bookstore.  Computers are also available.  Use is limited to 2 at a time because of distancing requirements.  As ever, we are strictly enforcing social distancing, capacity, mask and other restrictions. 

We look forward to safer conditions as vaccinations proceed and will continue to update you as our re-opening plans progress.

377 ELKWOOD AVENUE
NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ 07974
908-665-0311