For Children

Children's Book Lists & Recommendations

Juvenile Mysteries 

Science & STEAM 

Sports Fans 

Beyond Princesses 

6th Grade Readers

Reading Level M-N

Reading Level O-P 

Reading Level Q-R 

There are many great online resources to help you find the right book!  For leveled reading, use Scholastic Book Wizard, which lets you search by level, or look up what level a particular book is.

Look up a favorite fiction book to see read-alike recommendations with NoveList K-8. Novelist K-8 is also a good source for lists of recommended books for various ages and types of fiction.  

Novelist K-8 

Other websites that will help you find read-alikes:

GoodReads

Guys Read

Rick's Reading Recommendations (Percy Jackson read-alikes)

Award Winning Books:

ALSC Book and Media Awards

National Book Awards

Caldecott Medal & Honor Books

Boston Globe- Horn Book Awards

Garden State Children's Book Awards

Pinterest:

pinterest2

The New Providence Memorial Library has published many book lists for children and readers of all ages in its collection on Pinterest.  

Upcoming Events

Aug 03 12:00AM-Pandemic Virtual Gallery
Aug 03 12:00AM-Pandemic Virtual Gallery
Aug 10 01:00PM-Virtual Storytime
Aug 10 07:00PM-Baseball Discussion
Aug 03 12:00AM-Pandemic Virtual Gallery

At long last..

.....we are starting to circulate our collection again!

We are very happy to be back and allowed to offer contactless pickup service.  Materials will be circulated from a table behind the front doors.  Holds can be placed for items not currently available and now you can also request items that are on the shelf.  Place holds and requests through the online catalog or call us.

There are some limitations so please be sure to check else where on this site for the complete list of instructions.  

Read more ...

377 ELKWOOD AVENUE
NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ 07974
908-665-0311