For Children

Children's Book Lists & Recommendations

Juvenile Mysteries 

Science & STEAM 

Sports Fans 

Beyond Princesses 

6th Grade Readers

Reading Level M-N

Reading Level O-P 

Reading Level Q-R 

There are many great online resources to help you find the right book!  For leveled reading, use Scholastic Book Wizard, which lets you search by level, or look up what level a particular book is.

Look up a favorite fiction book to see read-alike recommendations with NoveList K-8. Novelist K-8 is also a good source for lists of recommended books for various ages and types of fiction.  

Novelist K-8 

Other websites that will help you find read-alikes:

GoodReads

Guys Read

Rick's Reading Recommendations (Percy Jackson read-alikes)

Award Winning Books:

ALSC Book and Media Awards

National Book Awards

Caldecott Medal & Honor Books

Boston Globe- Horn Book Awards

Garden State Children's Book Awards

Pinterest:

pinterest2

The New Providence Memorial Library has published many book lists for children and readers of all ages in its collection on Pinterest.  

Upcoming Events

Feb 01 12:00AM-1920s Community Read
Mar 08 01:00PM-Virtual Storytime
Mar 08 03:00PM-Pickup Mar Teen Take Out Boxes
Mar 08 03:30PM-Virtual Club Phoenix
Mar 08 07:00PM- Baseball Discussion Group

Signs of life!

As the snow begins to melt, we see positive signs of brighter days ahead.  Infection rates in town continue to drop and the COVID Committee of the Board of Trustees continues to monitor virus progress in the community.  We have been meeting regularly to evaluate whether conditions are right for re-opening.  As always, the safety of our patrons and staff is of prime importance. 

We are happy to announce that we will once again open to computer use by appointment on Monday, 3/1.  As before, we ask that you make an appointment for a 45 minute slot at least the day before and we will not take advance appointments beyond 1 week.  Social distancing requirements only allow us to make 2 computers available. 

We look forward to safer conditions as vaccinations proceed and will continue to update you as our re-opening plans progress.

377 ELKWOOD AVENUE
NEW PROVIDENCE, NJ 07974
908-665-0311